How does a restaurant get listed in the guide?
A restaurant is listed in the Celiac Restaurant Guide if they have a gluten free menu on their website or they indicate on their website that they prepare gluten free meals. Sometimes a restaurant will be listed if it has been recommended by someone as a restaurant that serves gluten free meals. Unfortunately, there is never a guarantee that the food you are served is gluten free, there will be times when you are disappointed. Restaurants change for many reasons, the chef, owners or management may change, the server or kitchen staff may be poorly trained, etc. If you have never been to a restaurant before it is always a good idea to call ahead to make sure the restaurant can serve gluten free meals.